See Through 4 — Permanent Moving Parts
(out March 12th, 2021 on All-Set! Editions)

Genre(s): Avant-Jazz, Jazz
RIYL: Connie Crothers, Lennie Tristano, Thelonious Monk, Mary Halvorson

Press Release

Pete Johnston : Website | Bandcamp
All-Set! Editions : Bandcamp

ABOUT: Toronto bassist and composer Pete Johnston‘s variable-lineup quartet See Through 4 is back with a new disc of energetic para-jazz compositions. Permanent Moving Parts completes a trilogy (alongside False Ghosts, Minor Fears and Bog Standards) and teems with the same eccentric charisma as its predecessors.  Chris Baber of JazzViews said of the former “As a primer for the vivacity of the contemporary Toronto jazz scene, you could do worse than this set” and I would certainly assert this is equally—if not more—true of this new one (at least far as vivacity goes). Johnston’s angular writing finds new dynamism through the band’s current cast: Jake Oelrich’s driving quirkiness behind the drum-kit, Michael Davidson‘s kaleidoscopic vibraphonisms, and the powerful and insightful trumpet-playing of Lina Allemano.

Radio — The Mystery Lesson (Daniel Spicer)
Review — Chris May, All About Jazz
Mini-review — Geert Ryssen, Full Circle Music Blog

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close